Library cards are issued free of charge to:
- Residents of Haywood County
- Property owners in Haywood County
- Students or teachers at a Haywood County school, college, or university
- Employees in Haywood County
Applicants not falling under one of these guidelines will be assessed a nonresident fee of $25 annually. The fee is based on the amount Haywood County taxpayers are assessed, per capita, for library services.
You are responsible for all library materials checked out on your card and agree to abide by library policies and lending rules. If a card is lost, there is a $2 replacement fee. Lost cards should be reported immediately.
Please note: individuals with active cards in other NC Cardinal member counties or systems cannot apply for an additional card in Haywood County. Cards belonging to users in other NC Cardinal member counties or systems can use their card to access physical resources at any HCPL branch.
Apply for a Card in Person
Apply for a card at the Circulation Desks of any branch library. You must present a photo ID reflecting a current Haywood County address. Acceptable photo ID includes: a driver's license or state-issued ID. Those without a driver's license or state-issued ID with a current Haywood County address must provide additional proof of residence: mail addressed to you at a Haywood County address, a utility bill for service at a Haywood County address, a tax bill for a Haywood County residence, or a mortgage/rental agreement for property in Haywood County. Minors must be present with an adult parent or legal guardian to apply for a card.
Apply for a Card Online
Apply for a card by online by completing this Google Form: https://forms.gle/jBhmUWddErXVJKi69.
Be prepared to provide the following information:
- Full Name (first, middle, last)
- Full Address
- Phone number
- Email address
- Home library (Waynesville, Canton, Maggie Valley, or Fines Creek)
- Picture of your photo ID. If your photo ID does not have your current Haywood County mailing address, additional proof of Haywood County residence/employment/school enrollment is required.
You will be emailed a library card number and PIN within 24-48 hours, providing you with access to all of the library’s online resources. You will be required to visit the Waynesville branch to pick up your library card within two weeks. You will then be able to check out items from open branch libraries. New cards not picked up within one month will be destroyed.
Cards to minors under 18 will only be issued if their adult parent or legal guardian has a card in good standing (fines less than $5). The adult parent/guardian agrees to pay fines or other charges imposed for late return, loss, or mutilation of library materials.
North Carolina Government & Heritage Library Card
If you are a North Carolina resident or state agency employee, you can sign up for and receive a card from the North Carolina Government & Heritage Library, part of the North Carolina State Library. You will be able to borrow items from the Raleigh location and they will be shipped free to your preferred branch library in Haywood County. You can check out the Online Resources and Catalog, available to NCGHL cardholders.
To apply for a card, click on this link, Apply for a North Carolina Government & Heritage Library Card., print out and complete the form, scan and email your completed form to: firstname.lastname@example.org.