Why is Haywood County Reappraising my property?

North Carolina General Statute 105-286 requires all North Carolina Counties to conduct a reappraisal/revaluation of all real property at least every 8 years.  Haywood County is on a 4 year reappraisal cycle.  An eight year cycle can create more opportunity for inequities to grow and can lead to much larger and unpredictable changes to property values.  As inequities increase, the tax burden on individual property owners becomes un-balanced.  A reappraisal resets the values to reflect true market value to ensure all property owners are paying their fair share.

Show All Answers

1. Why is Haywood County Reappraising my property?
2. How is value determined?
3. What is market value?
4. Will my value change?
5. What is the relation between appraisal & taxation
6. Will I be notified of my new value?
7. What if I do not agree with my new value?
8. Will the Assessors office assist me in filing an appeal?
9. What is considered to be a valid reason to appeal my value.
10. What is considered to be a invalid reason to appeal my value.
11. Is there a deadline to appeal my property tax value?